IFITT Hannes Werthner Tourism and Technology Lifetime Achievement Award

The Hannes Werthner Tourism and Technology Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual from academia, industry or government, who has made significant contributions to the advancement of the field/practice of tourism and technology.
The winner of 2022 award is Jamie Murphy.

ENTER Conference Best Full Paper Award 2022

1stPlace – Lyndon Nixon, Do DMOs promote the right aspects of the destination? A study of Instagram photography with a visual classifier.
2ndPlace – Yi Xuan Ong, Tao Sun and Naoya Ito, Beyond Influencer Credibility: The Power of Content and Parasocial Relationship on Processing Social Media Influencer Destination Marketing Campaigns
3rdPlace – Linus W. Dietz, Sameera Thimbiri Palage and Wolfgang Wörndl, Navigation by Revealing Trade-offs for Content-Based Recommendations

ENTER Conference Best Short Paper Award 2022

1stPlace – Bing Pan, Virinchi Savanapelli, Abhishek Shukla and Junjun Yin, Monitoring Human-Wildlife Interactions in National Parks with Crowdsourced Data and Deep Learning.
2ndPlace – Micol Mieli, Exploring “planned serendipity” in smartphone related information behavior with the Experience Sampling Method.
3rdPlace – Sreejith Balasubramanian, Shalini Ajayan and Cody Paris, Leveraging Blockchain in Medical Tourism Value Chain.

ENTER Conference Best PhD Proposal Award 2022

1stPlace – Hyemin Kim, Jinyoung Kim and Chulmo Koo, The different level of tourist perception to promotional message according, to the psychological distance in the COVID-19 situation.
2ndPlace – Yingying Du and Hanqin Qiu, Investigation into the Impact of Anthropomorphism of Tourism Service Robots and Brand Personality on Customers’ Intention of Value Co- creation.
3rdPlace – Lanfei Gao, Hui Li and Sai Liang, Individual hosts V.s. house agency: Influence of Multi-listing hosts on sharing accommodation survival.

IFITT Thesis Excellence Award

Sergio Ibáñez Sánchez, Engaging customers before the trip: experimental analysis of the role of virtual and augmented reality in the creation of tourism pre-experiences.

IFITT ICT4D Scholarship

ENTER22 was organized as an online conference and everyone had an opportunity to join the conference from all around the world. Thus, ICT4D scholarship to cover the conference participation was not awarded this year.

Best IFITTtalk of the Year

IFITTTalk@Turkey- IFITT summerschool and summit

IFITT 2022 Journal Paper of the Year Award

Yang Xu, Jingyan Li, Alexander Belyi & Sangwon Park, Characterizing destination networks through mobility traces of international tourists—A case study using a nationwide mobile positioning dataset (Tourism Management).

Congratulations, well done and thank you for your contribution!

IFITT would like to thank Director of Research Excellence Berta Ferrer-Rosell for overseeing the award identification processes. Last but not least, our sincere gratitude goes to the awards committee and colleagues in it, and, in particular, to Research Track chairs Berta Ferrer-Rosell, David Massimo, Katerina Berezina, Juho Pesonen (IFITT president), Portia Sifolo (the PhD workshop chair) and Kasha Minor and Dandison Ukpabi (ENTER23 Chairs) for organising and supporting the process.